Three powerful options to choose from
When you create a new form in Customer Fields, or when you edit the settings for an existing form, you will see a section that allows you to configure the form's account options. There are three options to choose from:
How to change account options for new forms
When creating a new form you'll find a section for 'Account options' underneath the form's name:
How to change account options for existing forms
When editing an existing form, click on the 'Settings' tab in the form builder. On this page you'll find a section for 'Account options':
Automatically create customer accounts
If the 'Default' account option is enabled, then the app will attempt to automatically create (or update) customer records in Shopify each time the form is submitted. This is the default option for all forms created in Customer Fields. We suggest using this option for the following use cases:
Allow new customers to register for an account and receive immediate access to their new account
Allow existing customers to edit their account details after logging in (learn more here)
When a new customer submits a form with the 'Default' option enabled, the app will create a customer record in Shopify and the customer will be automatically logged in to their new account. Shopify will also send the customer the store's standard 'Customer account welcome' email (found in the Shopify admin under Settings > Notifications > Customer).
When an existing customer submits a form with the 'Default' option enabled, the app will update the existing customer record using the data collected by the form. Please note that existing customers must be logged in to their account before submitting the form, otherwise the app will attempt to create a new customer record.
Require email verification
If you enable the account option for 'Require email verification', then each new customer who submits the form will need to verify their email address in order to activate their account. The app will create a customer record in Shopify when a new customer submits the form, but these new customers will not be able to access their account until they verify their email address.
When customers submit a form with 'Require email verification' enabled, the app will create a new customer record in Shopify but the customer record will not have an active account. Instead, the app will trigger Shopify to automatically send the customer the store's standard 'Customer account invite' email (found in the Shopify admin under Settings > Notifications > Customer).
By default, the body of Shopify's invite email includes a link/button that allows the customer to confirm their email address and activate their account. When the customer clicks the link/button in the email they'll be redirected to the store's native account activation page so they can set a password and activate their new account.
Require account approval
If you enable the account option for 'Require account approval', then each customer who submits the form will need to be manually approved before their account can be activated. This is a long-awaited feature that has recently been added to Customer Fields, and this option is great if you want to have more control over who is able to create an account on your store!
When customers submit a form with 'Require account approval' enabled, Customer Fields will store a pending customer record in the app's database, but the customer's information will not be saved into Shopify until the pending customer record has been approved. The app will send the pending customer a confirmation email to let them know their request was received. The template for this confirmation email can be configured in the app admin under Settings > Email notifications > Email templates > Customer account request.
Once a pending customer has been approved, the app will create a customer record in Shopify, and it will send an account invite to the customer via email so they can set a password for their new account.
When you enable the 'Require account approval' option for the first time the app will create a new segment named "Review" in the customer directory. This segment allows you to quickly access a list of any new customers who are in a Pending status. Each customer who submits an account approval form will show be automatically included in the "Review" segment.
Pro-tip: You can learn more about the app's customer directory and segments using this help article.
Approve or Deny customers
To approve or deny a pending customer you will need to view the customer's details in the app. For any customer that is in a pending status you'll see a banner at the top of the details page, like so:
Click the 'Approve' button to save the customer's data to Shopify, and then use the modal that pops up to send an account invite via email to the customer. Notice that you can customize the email subject and message for each customer. You can also edit the template for this approval email in the app admin under Settings > Email notifications > Email templates > Customer account invite.
Click the 'Deny' link to deny the customer's request for an account. Use the modal that pops up to confirm the action, and send an optional message to the customer to explain why their request was denied. You can also edit the template for this denial email in the app admin under Settings > Email notifications > Email templates > Customer account deny.
Note: You are welcome to approve a customer that have you previously denied. This is helpful if you get more information from the customer after denying them, or if you accidentally deny a customer that you meant to approve.
There are some cases where you may need to merge one or more customer records together. This is because Shopify's system does not allow for duplicate
When approving a customer, if the app detects a customer record in Shopify that uses the same
phone, then you will see a banner message explaining that there is a conflict. You can view the conflicting record to edit or delete it, or you can merge the customer records together.
When you merge a customer, the app will overwrite the conflicting customer record with the data from the customer record you're approving. This includes all data in the app for the customer record being merged, which may include customer tags, standard Shopify fields, default address fields, and custom fields. Any of the customer's previous history in Shopify (including orders, timeline comments, etc) will be preserved.
Have questions, or need help?
Please contact us via chat or email and we'll be happy to assist! 🤗